Dean, College of Arts + Architecture

Job Description

The dean is the chief academic and administrative officer of the College, appointed by and reporting to the Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs. The dean will inherit a well-managed College and will be supported by a strong leadership team consisting of the Associate Dean for Academic Affairs; the Associate Dean of Performing Arts Services; the Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Programs; the Assistant Dean for Inclusive Excellence; the Director of the School of Architecture; the Chairs of the Departments of Art & Art History, Music, Dance, and Theatre; the Director of Communications and External Relations; the Visual Resources Center Lecturer; the Director of Information Technology; the Director of Business Affairs; the Director of Collaborative Works; and the Executive Assistant.

The dean will build upon the College’s strengths in cross-disciplinary practice and community engagementwhile focusing on student access, innovative research, and increased visibility of the program. The dean will advocate for the College of Arts + Architecture, lead with a unifying vision, and be accountable for the programmatic, financial, fundraising, and management operations that support the mission and vision of the school and its role within the university and the broader academic and cultural communities within which it is situated.

View full job description here.

How to Apply or Nominate

Screening of applications will begin immediately and continue until the completion of the search process.

Inquiries, nominations, referrals, and CVs with cover letters will be handled in confidence and should be sent via the Isaacson, Miller website for the search: https://www.imsearch.com/opensearches/university-north-carolina-charlotte-college-arts-architecture/dean.

Electronic submission of materials is strongly encouraged. 

Search Committee

Asher Haines, Chair
Associate Provost, School of Professional Studies
Asher.Haines@charlotte.edu
Assistant:
Melody Steigerwalt
msteiger@charlotte.edu 
Bojan Cukic
Dean, College of Computing and Informatic
bcukic@charlotte.edu

Assistant:
Cheryl Ring
caring@charlotte.edu

Marc Manack
Associate Professor, Ravin School of Architecture
704-687-1300
mmanack@charlotte.edu
 
Lydia Thompson
Professor, Department of Art and Art History
lthom115@charlotte.edu 
 
Tamara Williams
Associate Professor, Department of Dance
twill260@charlotte.edu 
 
Will Campbell
Professor, Department of Music
Will.Campbell@charlotte.edu 
 
Robin Witt
Professor, Department of Theatre
RobinWitt@charlotte.edu 
 

John Boyer
Chair, College of Arts + Architecture Advisory Council
Boyer Partners, LLC
johnvincentboyer@hotmail.com 

 
Leslie Zenk, Academic Affairs Liaison
Assistant Provost, Office of Academic Affairs
704-687-5766
lzenk@charlotte.edu 
Shannon Homesley
Office of Academic Affairs
704-687-5962
Shannon.homesley@charlotte.edu