

Constituent Universities Appalachian State University

East Carolina University

Elizabeth City State University

Fayetteville State University

North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University

North Carolina Central University

North Carolina State University at Raleigh

University of North Carolina at Asheville

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

University of North Carolina at Charlotte

University of North Carolina at Greensboro

University of North Carolina at Pembroke

University of North Carolina at Wilmington

University of North Carolina School of the Arts

Western Carolina University

Winston-Salem State University

Constituent High School North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics

An Equal Opportunity/ Affirmative Action Employer

The University of North Carolina

GENERAL ADMINISTRATION

POST OFFICE BOX 2688, CHAPEL HILL, NC 27515-2688

SUZANNE T. ORTEGA, Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Telephone: (919) 962-4614 · Fax: (919) 962-0120 · E-mail: stortega@northcarolina.edu

February 24, 2014

Chancellor Philip L. Dubois University of North Carolina at Charlotte Reese Administration Building 9201 University City Boulevard Charlotte, NC 28223

Dear Chancellor Dubois:

It is a pleasure to inform you that at its meeting on February 21, 2014, the Board of Governors approved the request to <u>establish</u> a Master of Science in Data Science and Business Analytics degree program at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte. This program will appear in the <u>Academic Program Inventory</u> as shown below:

| CIP Code | Level | Program Title | Effective Date |
|----------|-------|--|-----------------------|
| 52.1399 | MS | Data Science and Business Analytics | February 2014 |

There is the expectation that your campus will closely monitor enrollment and demand for graduates associated with these programs. Please do not hesitate to call me if we may be of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Suzanne T. Ortega

/ct

copies: Provost Joan Lorden

Graduate Dean Tom Reynolds Vice President Christopher Brown

Ms. Margaret Griffin Mr. Eric Zwieg