Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching

Established by the Board of Governors in 1994 to underscore the importance of and to reward good teaching across the University system, the awards are given annually to a tenured faculty member from each UNC campus. Recipients must have taught at their present institutions at least seven years; no one may receive the award more than once.


Each award recipient receives a commemorative bronze medallion and a $12,500 cash prize.

Nomination Process

Each year, the recipient of the Bank of America Award for Teaching Excellence becomes UNC Charlotte’s nominee for the Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching.


  • 2022: Dr. Adriana Medina, Reading and Elementary Education
  • 2021: Dr. Anabel Aliaga-Buchenau, Languages and Culture Studies
  • 2020: Dr. Heather Coffey, Middle, Secondary, and K-12 Education
  • 2019: Dr. Tony Schmitz, Mechanical Engineering and Engineering Science
  • 2018: Dr. Michèle Bissière, Languages and Culture Studies
  • 2017: Dr. Matthew Davies, Mechanical Engineering and Engineering Science
  • 2106: Dr. Stanley Schneider, Biological Sciences
  • 2015: Dr. Tracy Rock, Reading and Elementary Education
  • 2014: Dr. Kimberly Buch, Psychology
  • 2013: Dr. Joanne Robinson, Religious Studies
  • 2012: Dr. Howard Godfrey, Accounting
  • 2011: Dr. Jeffrey Price, Music
  • 2010: Dr. Charles Burnap, Mathematics and Statistics
  • 2009: Dr. Margaret (Meg) Morgan, English
  • 2008: Dr. Helene Hilger, Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • 2007: Dr. James McGavran, English
  • 2006: Dr. William C. Gay, Philosophy
  • 2005: Dr. Lawrence G. Calhoun, Psychology
  • 2004: Dr. Tyrel G. Moore, Geography and Earth Sciences
  • 2003: Dr. Gary F. Kohut, Management
  • 2002: Dr. Linda A. Berne, Health Promotion and Kinesiology
  • 2001: Dr. Laura Duhan Kaplan, Philosophy and Women’s Studies
  • 2000: Dr. Robert E. Guinn, Accounting
  • 1999: Dr. Owen J. Furuseth, Geography
  • 1998: Dr. Cynthia C. Combs, Political Science
  • 1997: Dr. Edward B. St. Clair, Religious Studies
  • 1996: Dr. Ann M. Newman, Nursing
  • 1995: Dr. J. Dennis Lord, Geography
  • 1994: Dr. Samuel D. Watson, Jr., English