Thomas Ehrlich Civically Engaged Faculty Award

The Thomas Ehrlich Civically Engaged Faculty Award recognizes one senior faculty member (post-tenure or middle-to-late career if not in a tenure line) each year.

Honorees (who must be affiliated with a Campus Compact member institution) are recognized for exemplary engaged scholarship, including leadership in advancing students’ civic learning, conducting community-based research, fostering reciprocal community partnerships, building institutional commitments to service-learning and civic engagement, and other means of enhancing higher education’s contributions to the public good.

The award — previously known as the Thomas Ehrlich Faculty Award for Service-Learning — is named in honor of Thomas Ehrlich, former chair of the Campus Compact board of directors and president emeritus of Indiana University.

Our nominee each year is always the recipient of that year’s Bonnie E. Cone Professorship in Civic Engagement.


Note: Nominees from UNC Charlotte in bold were recipients of the Ehrlich Award that year.

2023: Mr. Carlos Cruz, Theatre
2022: Dr. Susan McCarter, Social Work
2021: Dr. Kimberly Buch, Psychological Science
2020: Dr. Joanne Carman, Political Science and Public Administration
2019: Dr. Mark West, English
2018: Dr. Janni Sorensen, Geography and Earth Sciences
2017: Dr. Thomas Schmedake, Chemistry
2016: Dr. Ryan Kilmer, Psychological Science
2015: Dr. Jose Gamez, Architecture
2014: Dr. Heather Smith, Geography and Earth Sciences
2013: Dr. James Cook, Psychological Science