James H. Woodward Faculty Research Award

The James H. Woodward Faculty Research Award was established in 2021 and is awarded annually to an untenured member of the faculty who was reappointed to a tenure-earning position in the preceding academic year. By recognizing a promising program of research, scholarship, or creative practice, the award supports the career development of junior faculty in tenure-track positions by facilitating their development and growth as educators and scholars.


The awardee will be named a James H. Woodward Faculty Research fellow and receive a one-time award of discretionary funds that may be used to support research development including, but not limited to travel, publications, research expenses and conference participation. The funds are available to the awardee until expended or until the awardee leaves the University. Should the awardee leave the University any unexpended balance reverts to the award endowment. The initial awards will be set at $2,500 and may be adjusted at the discretion of the Provost in keeping with the availability of funds in the endowment.

Nomination Process

Each spring following completion of the reappointment, promotion and tenure process, each dean of an academic college may nominate one faculty member who was reappointed that year in a tenure-earning position. In the event that the college has no faculty members recommended for reappointment, there will be no nomination from that college for the year.

The nomination period is currently closed. Nominations were due on May 1, 2023.


  • 2022-2023: Dr. Sharon Watson, Anthropology
  • 2021-2022: Kaustavi Sarkar, Dance
  • 2020-2021*: Jun Xu, Mechanical Engineering and Engineering Science
  • 2019-2020*: Kaja Dunn, Theatre
  • 2018-2019*: Way Sung, Bioinformatics and Genomics

* Awarded in 2022