Founding Dean, College of Humanities & Earth and Social Sciences

Job Description

On September 7, 2023, UNC Charlotte announced the creation of the College of Humanities & Earth and Social Sciences, one of two new colleges formed from the previous College of Liberal Arts & Sciences. The Founding Dean will be responsible for charting a vision for the reimagined College that combines a commitment to research and exploration with a dedication to student success. The transition period for the new college will span the 2023-24 academic year and beyond. Currently the Office of Academic Affairs is determining the additional resources and leadership structure for the new College.

The Founding Dean will lead the College in achieving even higher levels of interdisciplinary activities to better respond to the evolving needs of our community. Sharing in the mission to inspire thinking and transform lives through discovery, innovation and global connections, the successful candidate will be an excellent communicator, a committed collaborator, and a creative thinker who inspires others to achieve excellence in building and shaping the new college.

The Dean of the College reports to the Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and works collaboratively with other deans and members of the Division of Academic Affairs leadership team. In this role, the Dean will be responsible for continuing to advance and strengthen degree programs; fostering excellence in teaching, research, and service; increasing the College’s visibility and enrollment; increasing the College’s financial resources; and effectively managing the College’s budget in a transparent way. The Dean should promote an environment that fosters growth, collaboration, and shared governance.

View full job description here.

How to Apply or Nominate

The Search Committee is no longer accepting applications.

Search Committee

Lee Gray, Chair
Senior Associate Provost
Kathy Hunter
Malcolm Butler
Dean, Cato College of Education
Judy Pugh
Dan Grano
Chair & Professor, Department of Communication Studies
Heather Smith
Faculty Director, Levine Scholars Program
Amy Canevello
Professor, Department of Psychological Science
Jeffrey Leak
Professor, Department of English
Gordon Hull
Professor, Department of Philosophy
Celia Sinclair
Senior Lecturer, Department of Religious Studies
Joe Wholey
Chair of Academic Affairs, Student Government Association
Leslie Zenk, Academic Affairs Liaison
Associate Provost and Chief of Staff, Office of Academic Affairs
Shannon Homesley
Office of Academic Affairs